Book List

Okay my friend, here are a few quick reading recommendations.  I am going to make some assumptions about what your reading interests might be.  I know you can appreciate time travel so I will start there:

Enchantment by Orson Scott Card:  I read this one this summer.  It has the double fun of time travel and retelling of a folk tale.  The story is the “happily ever after” from Sleeping Beauty, set in modern day Russia.

Mirror Mirror by Gregory Macguire:  This is by the author that wrote Wicked ( which I hated).  This is the retelling of the folk tale  Snow White.  I really enjoyed the mysticism of this book.

Tamsin by Peter S. Beagle:  This is a Young Adult book.  I like to read YA because it keeps me somewhat in touch with the upcoming generations.  Not to mention that they read fast.  This book has ghosts, romance, haunted house, coming of age angst, historical fiction.  It has it all.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon:  This was my first love!!  My first exposure to time travel and it remains my gold standard.  It has the added joy of  a “timeless” love story.  And of course a good time travel is also a good historical fiction, and this one delivers.

An interesting literary fantasy/scifi series is the Thursday Next series.  Starting with:

Eyrie Affair,  Lost in a Good Book, Well of Lost Plots and Something Rotten  by Jasper Fforde

Misc Recommendations:

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Garlic and Sapphires by Ruth Reichel: A Foodie book

Mysteries by:

John Dunning

Laurie r. King

Ridley Pearson

Jacqueline Winspear

Currently I am reading:

Shadowbrook by Beverly Swerling:  An historical fiction about the French and Indian Wars.

One thought on “Book List

Leave a Reply

