The Lions of Little Rock Review

The Lions of Little RockThe Lions of Little Rock by Kristin Levine
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m not sure where I saw this book reviewed but I am glad I put it on my TBR. This was great. I was a little hesitant about the topic and worried it would be preachy. But nothing could be further from the truth. This historical fiction about Little Rock, Arkansas in 1958, the year after the Little Rock 9 started the integration process of Arkansas public school.
This was an endearing historical fiction that brought the fictional characters into your hearts. Rather than being preachy, the author focused on the themes of friendship, facing your fears and finding your voice. I think young middle graders and teens of today, will easily connect with these characters despite the difference in era. We all have strengths we are yet discovering and weaknesses we are always struggling to overcome.
An important factor to remember is that young people feel the stress of the world unrest around them far more than we realize as adults. So many issues are far better explained and discussed rather than hidden from them. Young people can either emulate our prejudicies (shame on us) or shoot holes through our facade of old thinking if we encourage their natural open-mindedness.
This book will make another great match up with some other fiction and non-ficiton books. I would really like to use this as a kick off for an inquiry project.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

