Non-Fiction Reviews

The Elephant Scientist (Scientists in the Field series)The Elephant Scientist by Caitlin O’Connell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked this up from the “Browsing” shelves at the public library. The beautiful cover picture drew my eye. It was timely because I was setting up for a Non-fiction/Informational Reading Presentation. This is one of a series of Scientists in the Field. The photography is riveting and the details of how these scientists live their lives and study communication methods of African elephants is fascinating. I think this will be great for Informational text reading for grades 5-7. Just as an aside I remember reading a very oddd adult fiction a couple of years ago that was written from the perspective of a young elephant called The White Bone. I found myself remembering that book as I read this informational text.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

