Informational Text Reviews

Extreme Scientists: Exploring Nature's Mysteries from Perilous PlacesExtreme Scientists: Exploring Nature’s Mysteries from Perilous Places by Donna M. Jackson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read this book out loud to my husband as we drove this weekend. Both of us were fascinated by the facts we learned from this great book. It highlighted 3 unusual scientists that combine their scientific studies with truly extreme activities. A hurricaine hunter, a cave biologist, and a redwood-climbing botanist. Great pictures and stories make this a perfect recommendation for my students in informational texts.

Ballet for Martha: Making Appalachian SpringBallet for Martha: Making Appalachian Spring by Jan Greenberg
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This non-fiction picture book has been highly acclaimed and won the Sibert Award for 2011. The book did have lovely illustrations and great references at the end about the 3 people highlighted in the story. It told the story of the amazing choreographer and dancer, Martha Graham and her collaborators Aaron Copeland, composer and Isamu Noguchi, set designer. I guess I didn’t give it great stars because it just didn’t grab me. I just think my demographics of students would not really feel this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

