Adult Fantasy Review

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was torn between a 3.5 or 4.0. This is the first book of the series that has been featured in the TV Series on HBO. I have not seen the show but have heard the “buzz” and wanted to give it a try. This was an undertaking for me because I haven’t read anything but YA or middle-grade literature for several years. In addition it was 800+ daunting pages. I made the mistake of reading some reviews after I had started the book and became kind of discouraged. As with any book on Goodreads I can find a 5 star review and a 1 star review on each book. The negative reviews were tough and had the power of persuasion. So midstream in this book I really got bogged down. Now whether that was a factor of the book or my attitude I am not sure.
It definitely has a huge cast of characters that overwhelmed the story at times. I had decided that I would get through it come whatever. But the last 3-4 chapters totally set me up to need to find the next book in the series.
It is very Arthurian with a touch of magic. I think I have the charcters and kingdoms alive in my imagination now so I will look for the next one. Probably sooner rather than later, to keep it fresh in my memory.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

