I WONDER if we will ever solve bullying?

WonderWonder by R.J. Palacio
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I would probably really stretch this to 4.5. I struggled at first to get going in this story. But I must admit I was reading it on my e-reader and I definitely have a more difficult time connecting with books in that format.
The thing that finally hooked me was hearing the story through all the different voices of the characters. By the time I finished this book I understood all the buzz around this story. This would lend itself to wonderful discussions in class. Every player in the trauma of bullying is represented in this story. The victim, the parents and teachers, the bully himself, the peers who stand by and let it happen, the brave friends who step out of the crowd and befriend the victim. I really did enjoy this book and look forward to setting up a book club featuring it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

