Non-fiction Monday

Today I enjoyed 2 wonderful non-fiction books that I shared with my GT students last week. They are very similar styles and I found them wonderful. Consider sharing with your classroom of any age!

A World of Wonders: Geographic Travels in Verse and Rhyme
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

.A World of Wonders: Geographic Travels in Verse and RhymeThis is a deceptively simple book of verse. I grabbed it mostly for its cover and promise of “geography”. It is probably pretty obvious that all things geography are my obsession this year. After I sat down and frolicked through this book I was thrilled. It holds rather extensive geography concepts in beauitiful poetic verse and captivating illustrations. I love learning made fun and engaging and this book captures that goal

Lady Liberty: A BiographyLady Liberty: A Biography by Doreen Rappaport
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was preparing a fun Ipad/Non-Fiction text application for my GT students last week and grabbed this book for its cover. Once inside I was so pleased to see it was a biography of the many people involved in the creation of the Statue of Liberty. It is written in verse and carries a mass of details about the process. Dates, people, politics,structural details and personal emotions are presented in beautiful verse and gorgeous illustrations.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

