Here come the Zombies!

The Forest of Hands and Teeth (The Forest of Hands and Teeth, #1)The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Well this was my first and hopefully last Zombie Apocalypse novel. I have seen this book reviewed over and over and keep putting it to the bottom of my TBR list because I knew it would be zombies. I enjoy dystopias but don’t really get the zombie phenomenon. My 24 year old son informs me that a “good” zombie story is about how the characters interact and react because of the imminent danger of the zombie infection. The story apparently is not really about zombies per se but about the battle against evil in general. This was a surprisingly deep discussion from my “non-reader” son concerning what I consider to be a ridiculous plot vehicle. Go figure.
So that being said, I had to reconsider my initial reaction to this book. I don’t think I will change my star rating, but I will admit that the story had some interesting character development and relationships. For the female YA audience, there was the ubiquitous love triangle. There were some powerful chapters of longing and loneliness. I think the writing was better than the Twilight series but not significantly. Even though the author left us totally hanging at the end of this book, I will not rush out for the next installment.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

