Non-Fiction Picture Books

Bird Talk: What Birds Are Saying and WhyBird Talk: What Birds Are Saying and Why by Lita Judge
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a lovely book about the various ways birds communicate. The illustrations were fun and beautiful. They invited the reader to linger and explore. There was obvious research and detailed facts that went into this book, but it presented them in a light and entertaining style. The author skillfully captures the attention of both the child and adult reader in this delightful book. So much so, that I plan to give it as a Holiday gift for a couple of my adult “bird” friends. I mean humans who love and care for real bird friends. 🙂

View all my reviews

Life in the Ocean: The Story of Oceanographer Sylvia EarleLife in the Ocean: The Story of Oceanographer Sylvia Earle by Claire A. Nivola
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have had this book on my TBR list for a while and yesterday it jumped off the New Children’s Non-Fiction browsing shelf into my book bag. My family and I have become avid Scuba divers over the last 10 years and this book communicates many of my feelings about underwater. The illustrations are captivating and the story has me searching for some “grown-up” books about Sylvia Earle. There is something about the weightlessness and beauty underwater that is addicting. It has changed our lives and perspectives about caring for our oceans and its vast life forms. To see this pristine world is to love it!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

