Are sequels ever as good as the original?

Bitterblue (Graceling Realm, #3)Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I couldn’t wait for this 3rd installment in the Graceling series to hit the shelves. I loved Graceling and enjoyed Fire slightly less but enough. So it is with disappointment that I must say I struggled to get through this book. It returned to the same kingdom and characters of the first book so I had high hopes. I know it has been a considerable lapse of time since I read Graceling and Fire was completely different characters (a companion novel not a sequel). So it makes sense that I had difficulty reconnecting with the characters. But it was more than that. There were just too many characters to keep straight or relate to.
I loved the premise of this series, that there are characters with a Grace, or special gifted skill. But I thought the Graces in this book were forced and irrelevant.
The book was about 100 confusing pages too long. The love story was unsatisfying and the whole thing was a let down. Bummer

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

