Liar & Spy won’t be on my top 5 list.

Liar & SpyLiar & Spy by Rebecca Stead
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead has been on most short lists for favorite books of 2012. It was one of the top 5 on the “Nerdies” Awards so it went to the top of my pile. Many of my students loved her first book, When You Reach Me.
Liar and Spy was chock full of middle school angst. Stead dealt with making new friends, school bullying, denying our fears and phobias. I applaud her tackling all these issues, but I honestly think I have other favorites that deal with these ideas better. Specifically, another one of the top 5 for 2012, Wonder by R.J. Palaccio, I felt was a superior book.
Admittedly, Liar & Spy is probably better for earlier readers than Wonder, I still prefer Wonder. I think it was the new friend (Safer) the protagonist ( Georges) meets that left me cold. He was the in fact the liar and spy and I had a hard time forgiving him as easily as the Georges did. I know that much of the story was about all the characters having secrets/lies I didn’t have time at the end of the book to get done being angry with Safer.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

