This is a very cool look at the Illustrator’s process for cover design.

Nerdy Book Club

I’m so excited to reveal the cover for Anne Ursu’s The Real Boy. After working with this same team for Breadcrumbs, I was thrilled to be asked back for Anne’s next book. Breadcrumbs had so much wonderful imagery for me to work with, and I wondered what her new script had in store for me. Lavishly dressed noble women, magicians (and their assistants), apothecaries, and friendly cats? Yes, count me in.

Figuring out the cover for The Real Boy was an interesting process, and it started with lots of thumbnails and lots of sketches. We weren’t sure what we wanted for the cover, we just knew that Oscar, the main character, assistant to a powerful magician, would be on it.

After reading through the manuscript, I started to gather references. I looked at photos of the spice markets of Istanbul, the backgrounds from various Miyazaki movies, and different…

View original post 368 more words

Leave a Reply

